“What I’ve Learned in [College] is…”

In college, I’ve learned to love, to laugh, to cry, to give up, to try again. I have learned to manage my money, to make money, to not make money, that money isn’t everything, but that sometimes it is. I have learned what it means be a leader, and let myself be led. I have learned to ask why and mean it. I have learned to learn, and then learn some more. I have learned how to fail a difficult course. I have also learned how to retake a course (with a near perfect A).  I have learned the names of many, and lost many along the way. I have learned what matters, and actually what really matters. I have learned how the world works. Better, I have learned to question my biased view of the world. I have learned how to support a family member, balance three jobs, two majors, clubs, Greek life, and career preparation. Through coursework, I have learned how to code, the difference between a tendon and a ligament, that Russians chase their vodka with pickled vegetables, and that mitochondria is not only the powerhouse of the cell: it is a gift bestowed by your mother. I’ve learned how to search for a job and how to quit a job, properly. I have learned how to manage a restaurant. I have learned about how to provide the best customer service and how difficult it is to work in the service industry. I have learned that human subjects are people too. I’ve learned that I’m not the only one who’s done this. I have learned that I am not special. But, I have also learned that my contribution is valuable. I have learned that I can’t do it all by myself, regardless of how hard I try. But, I have also learned that I will never fail: it isn’t in me. It isn’t in you, either. I have learned never to give up on others. I have learned to just keep trying. I have learned to worry about what I can do, not what I can’t do or didn’t do. I have learned to control the controllable and let life take course. I have learned to put my best food forward: “I’ve got this.”

Leave a Reply

